I'm going pro!

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

kawboy

Smoking Fanatic
Original poster
OTBS Member
Oct 20, 2015
Central Minnesota
After just shy of 34 years at my current employer I'm headed to work in a kitchen! Fed up with the corporate world I'm starting over. I will be working the kitchen for a local caterer. I graduated a local culinary program the day before I started my cancer journey almost two years ago. Things just fell into place recently. My current employer let me know that my return to fulltime wasn't fast enough, as chef was looking for a hand in his kitchen. Seems like a perfect Fit! The real bitch of it is that after 34 years with a company, I'll make more money as the newbie! Kind of makes you feel you were under valued. It feels weird to head to a job that I actually look forward to and enjoy after all these years. We will be smoking briskets and butts this summers so that will be fun. It just goes to show you that there can be a silver lining after the big "c".

Man thats all aces in your hand! More money and doing something you love. Congrats and good luck!

Jim

Reactions: kawboy
Good luck and enjoy the new career path. Another plus is the free eats. One drawback from working in a kitchen. A friend of mine comes from a family of restaurateurs. He started making donuts in the bakery. Then after college he opened a pizza shop. This was back in the 70s and 80s. To this day he still can't stand either one after being around them so much.

Chris

Congrats and success to you!!! Are you going to bring them all the BBQ/Smoking knowledge to their catering menu??

I hope the cancer journey is under control for you. I am on #33 of radiation treatments (of 38). I wish you the best of luck!!