Smoking pork butt the day before

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

DukeSilver22

Fire Starter
Original poster
May 20, 2023
Philadelphia, Pa
Hey everyone,
I am having family over this weekend for labor day and I have intentions to make ribs and pulled pork. I want to smoke the pork butt on Friday but I am not sure if it is a good idea. I want to do this because to racks of ribs on my smoker will take up the right and middle grates so obviously I don't want the pork but on there right next to the firebox. Has anyone done this before? I know it probably won't be as good as it would be the day of smoking it but I have never done this before and was wondering if anybody has any pointers for doing this? Thanks/

Hey everyone,
I am having family over this weekend for labor day and I have intentions to make ribs and pulled pork. I want to smoke the pork butt on Friday but I am not sure if it is a good idea. I want to do this because to racks of ribs on my smoker will take up the right and middle grates so obviously I don't want the pork but on there right next to the firebox. Has anyone done this before? I know it probably won't be as good as it would be the day of smoking it but I have never done this before and was wondering if anybody has any pointers for doing this? Thanks/
As Bruce said. should not be a problem. Butts have plenty of intra-muscular fat to keep it moist.