Smoking Overnight

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

retto

Original poster
Mar 9, 2008
This is the first time that I need to start my meat the night before. I am making a 10lb shoulder, so I estimate my smoke time may be somwhere @15 hours (but I'm a novice, so I could be wrong.) My wife wants to have family over, and eat sometime during the afternoon, so I estimate that as 3pm. My question is this, how do I cook the shoulder and get some sleep at the same time? I figured that I'd start the shoulder @10:00 PM the night before, but doesn't the shoulder require hourly care?

first off.......WHEN is this going to happen

second......you need a remote 2 probe digi thermo.......like a Mav. Redi-Chek ET-73.......you can put the second/recieving uint besides your bed......this unit has alarms high and low ....one probe you insert into your meat.......if it hits the designated temp the alarm will go off......the second probe is for the smoker.........when the temps fall off and you need to add more charchol/wood.......the alarm goes off......

but MOST important.....like niniron said.......what type of smoker........dude we need a HECK of alot more info than what you just gave us..........

First off the 15hrs is a good guess you normaly say 1.5hrs per pound but it is just a guess. I would start it at like 8 or 9 the night before seeing as you could always wrap it in an old towel and put it in a preheated cooler and it will stay warm for hours.

The type of smoker you have is important. If it is a charcoal smoker you can use the minion mehtod with a charcoal basket so you dont need to check it as often. depending on the size of the basket i have heard of people smoking up to 6 hrs without checking.