Smokers, 4 Types of Meat, 15 People

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

mrdarby

Original poster
Sep 27, 2012
Salt Lake City, Utah
I may have bitten off more than I can chew. I am new to smoking but do it quite often. I have a Weber Smokey Mountain Cooker and will also be using an electric smoker (I don't remember the make or model but it uses pellets). My friends have asked if I would smoke some meat for everyone if they paid for it all. Of course I jumped at the chance. I bought a pork butt, brisket flat, 2 racks of baby back ribs, and 2 whole chickens. I'm sure this is enough food, along with the sides, my question is what's the best way to do this? I figure I'll use the electric smoker for the pork butt, I am doing pulled pork sandwiches, and brisket; and the charcoal Weber for the ribs and chicken. I'm most concerned about not having everything finish on time or having the chicken done while the brisket still is at 170, or the brisket done but the Butt still have an hour or so. Or any other combination of possibilities. We are eating around 5:00 so I figure it'll be an early start. Any tips or Ideas?

You want the brisket and the pork butt waiting on the chicken and ribs instead of the other way around. An empty ice chest is your friend in this regard. If you will wrap the pork butt and the brisket in heavy duty foil, then in a couple of very thick towels, place it down in an empty ice chest (like you take to picnics or camping to put drinks and ice in), then fill in all remaining space with pillows, blankets, more towels, etc. and close the lid, it will keep that meat hot for as much as 4 hours or longer and above 140 degrees so there is no danger of food spoilage.