Buckboard: Rinse or no Rinse?

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

Sven Svensson

Master of the Pit
Original poster
OTBS Member
Dec 5, 2021
Sonoma County, California
Tomorrow I hit the 8 day mark on dry brining my first Buckboard bacon. I’ve been a belly man for the last decade. I’m also new to the dry brine weighing method. I made one with just salt, cure, and brown sugar. I also made one with Capicola spices. My method of belly bacon included rinsing and even soaking.

So do I rinse these? Do I soak them? I’m very happy about the color on these. They are both most certainly cured.
6F4997E6-B5EA-4B64-84BF-FC7C14C363A2.jpeg
And GrumpyGriller GrumpyGriller , I think your buckboard is also approaching cured status, right?

How thick is the slab? always good to let them go 3-4 days extra for better color and flavor as the sugar migrates slower into the meat than the salts.
They are not real thick. Maybe an inch and a half at most. I’m a patient man and I’m not in any rush. I can easily let them go a few more days. That’s good advice. Thanks.

Tomorrow I hit the 8 day mark on dry brining my first Buckboard bacon. I’ve been a belly man for the last decade. I’m also new to the dry brine weighing method. I made one with just salt, cure, and brown sugar. I also made one with Capicola spices. My method of belly bacon included rinsing and even soaking.

So do I rinse these? Do I soak them? I’m very happy about the color on these. They are both most certainly cured.
View attachment 524009
And GrumpyGriller GrumpyGriller , I think your buckboard is also approaching cured status, right?
I agree with indaswamp indaswamp