Newbie Smoker

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

Snippet9192

Original poster
Aug 23, 2023
Eastern NC
Hello all. Newbie smoker from eastern NC here. I’ve always been interested in cooking, but recently got the urge to try my hand at smoking. I have a 40“ Masterbuilt smoker on the way to get my feet wet. I figured this would be a relatively inexpensive way to see if I enjoyed the process before spending more on something nicer. Any tips, tricks or recipes would be greatly appreciated!

Reactions: JLeonard
Hello all. Newbie smoker from eastern NC here. I’ve always been interested in cooking, but recently got the urge to try my hand at smoking. I have a 40“ Masterbuilt smoker on the way to get my feet wet. I figured this would be a relatively inexpensive way to see if I enjoyed the process before spending more on something nicer. Any tips, tricks or recipes would be greatly appreciated!
Welcome to the arena, From S. florida. It's always good to minimize investment until you're sure the kin folk are going to dig your creations. I started on a MES30, which I have nursed through and is still functional. I have since bought almost one of each type of smoker. I've finally been enlightened to the Weber Smokey Mountain, which is now my primary smoke device.
Regarding your MES 40. I'm not sure if your 40 has the pull out tube to add more chips or not.
If you are finding yourself running low on smoke or not getting the smokiness you desire, I would look into a device similar to this one.
https://www.amazon.com/Realcook-Pel...locphy=9011865&hvtargid=pla-964399836851&th=1

I still use my MES30 for quickies like pork belly for bacon, or yard bird for Brunswick stew,
If you get stuck, just holler.

Reactions: Snippet9192