My smoker and intro

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

Tommie_a

Fire Starter
Original poster
SMF Premier Member
Aug 25, 2023
🇬🇧
Hi all, just signed up, thought I’d say hi 👋 I’m Tom from Watford, England.

I’ve been into grilling for about 5 or 6 years, got multiple Weber’s; a classic kettle, 2x go anywhere’s, and a Smokey joe.

Over covid I decided to cut up a gas bottle and my interest in smoking meats started. I’m by no means a professional welder as you can see 😂 but really enjoyed making this… thought I’d post some pics. It originally was just the gas bottle on its side being used as a normal bbq but recently decided to add the fire box. I can still use it as a normal grille but thought I’d would be nice to have the option to smoke too

IMG_3839.jpeg

I lined the fire box with cement board, seems to keep the temp in well, the rope around the door helps too, no smoke leaking anywhere

IMG_3852.jpeg

At the start

IMG_8202.jpeg

One thing I might change is the position of the chimney and make it central as the left side of the grille seemed to get noticeably hotter on my probes last night than the right side, would you say this is a good idea? Many thanks and look forward to catching some tips on here

Last edited:
Deleted as I couldn’t figure out how to add pics. Above post now edited

Last edited:
Deleted as I couldn’t figure out how to add pics. Above post now edited

Last edited:
Welcome from Nova Scotia.

No help with the chimney placement, but some of the builders on the site might be around to help you with that.

Glad you joined , this is a great place for some show and tell, and a little fun along the way.

David

Reactions: Tommie_a
Greetings Tom, and welcome to the group from New Mexico, USA.