Joined but never said Hello

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

thesmokindogs

Fire Starter
Original poster
Nov 12, 2016
Sloan, NY - suburb of Buffalo
Howdy everybody!
I signed up here a couple months ago but never introduced myself. [emoji]128566[/emoji]

Originally from Mississippi I now call Buffalo, NY home. I'm new to smoking although I'm only a generation away from relying on a full-fledged smokehouse for meat throughout the winter.

My Mom regaled me with stories from her youth, hunting "bear grass" plants (a member of the Wort family) whenever my grandfather slaughtered a hog or cow. She and her siblings would harvest the tough, stringy blades, which have the consistency of palm leaves. Then they would cut slits in the cuts of meat, run the blades through the holes, and tie a knot so they could hang the meat in the smokehouse. They never had meat that they hadn't prepared, cured and smoked themselves.

I'm a long-time griller but only got my first smoker, a Brinkmann Smoke 'n Grill, last October. I only got to use it a couple of times before winter. I love it except for the tiny door for adding coals or smoking wood. Definitely a slip in an otherwise great design.

My wife bought me a MasterBuilt Pro Dual Fuel cabinet smoker for Father's Day and I just got it assembled this week. Looking forward to breaking it in this weekend!

I spent most of my working life in quick serve food service, primarily in the pizza business. But Mom didn't let any of her 6 boys reach puberty until we could cook from a recipe, do laundry and iron, and clean house. So we learned from a master.