Hello from New Mexico

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

OldValues

Original poster
SMF Premier Member
Mar 31, 2024
I'm a mostly retired guy in NM. I still consult a bit.

I've been grilling for about 50 years, and smoking food for about 40 years using Weber charcoal and lump and propane, cold smoking and for the past decade or so, a SmokinTex 1400. There seem to be plenty of techniques to use on the different equipment to get desired results.AS I am a big fan of good bourbon, I favor using it in a lot of bastes, sauces and a wonderful Sorghum Barbecue sauce. Springtime NM is a windy place and cooking on a grill is sometimes a little sketchy. Several years ago, after getting some disappointing results and very slow cooking out of the SmokinTex, I modified the smoker and installed a PID contoller. No complaints now. I'm also a big fan of ThermoWorks Signals to monitor smoking and grilling progress.

Other hobbies include woodworking and firearms shooting and light gunsmithing. I have a couple of collectable vintage cars that need some love, but I can't seem to get to them with a significant honey-do list.

Adios from NM,

Reactions: JLinza and Redicans
Welcome from Southcentral PA! Where in NM? I have a buddy who lives near Los Alamos (actually White Rock), I know at times he can't grill outside when it gets ultra dry like it normally can. Welcome to the forum!

Howdy neighbor. I'm in Rio Rancho, NM.
Welcome to the community.
Not sure what part of NM you live in, but it's always windy here, not just springtime. Hahaha