A few beginner questions: Full Packer vs 2 Points, and Constant Temperature

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

ReverendGamerBlues

Original poster
Jun 16, 2020
I’m new to smoking, been doing it for 6 months. I have a few questions I have not been able to find answers to elsewhere, thought I would ask here:

• Everything I read says smoke a full packer brisket. I’ve done a few of those. I have also done a few points. I like doing the points because they are done in half the time (8 hours vs 16 hours average), and fatty brisket is the best. Plus, you get more surface area to get back/smoke flavor. Why is full packer preferred over splitting it in half?
  • Every place says keep the temperature as even as possible. I’ve been doing that, but WHY? What are the effects of going back and forth between 250 and 350, besides 350 isnt low and slow? What changes to the quality of the meat if I vary the temp between 225-300 F over the cook?
Thanks!

Reactions: JC in GB
The packers I've done have always turned out much better if left full form and not split between the point and flat. The amount of fat on the point renders, runs down, and keeps the flat moist. It's pretty hard to end up with a separated flat that stays moist without a bunch of injecting and marinating for this reason.