Wood inside WSM

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

brucehere

Original poster
Nov 17, 2017
I am about to start cooking on my WSM, and I was wondering if you could use a couple logs together with charcoal use?
Reason being is I'm wanting to create a bit more smoke.
I'm a newbie here so forgive my ignorance ;)

The WSM wasn't designed to be a stick burner. I'm not sure if you would get the air flow to burn logs. You may either wind up with no smoke or a full fledged campfire. I've only used chunks in my 22.

Chris

I don't know why you can't use hardwood chunks in a WSM. You could use a portion of a lit chimney to get things going and then fist sized chunks of split hardwood to fill the rest of the fire ring. Not sure how the burn time would go as it's a different media but it should work. First time might have a little bit of a learning curve on damper adjustment, burn time, etc... but it should be pretty similar to a regular WSM smoke IMO. Once the wood it lit, it's a lit coal just like lit charcoal.

The trick would be to use fist sized chunks instead of "logs" to keep them in the fire ring and manageable. I would think air control would be about the same especially if you have a power draft like a BBQ Guru.

I've actually thought about trying this one day, and have just never gotten around to it.

I've used one log amongst the charcoal. Oak cut from the tree in my backyard. The mesquite I bought recently is all small logs, like 2-3" thick, 8" long. One, maybe two logs buried in the cold charcoal with the hot dumped on top will work fine.

Chunks work great, use them all the time, but so do small logs.

Last edited: