help

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.
You have to have your salsa boiling before canning. I have heard that all the acid in tomatoes makes it safer to can then some other veggies but better safe than sorry. My grandma, mom, and wife have always had a boiling product going into the jars...
I however agree with Dave...look at gov guidelines. I am always half paranoid eating my wife's canning!

I am far from the canning expert!! I really try any excuse possible to get out of the kitchen when my wife is canning! I just know she has a huge boiling bubbling mess of salsa going and everything has to be boiling before going in jars. I will do a little more research on cold packing...

thanks for the help, i am new to this, i tried this raw packing, putting everything in a food processor according to taste. then added salt and vinegar, sterilized my jars, and then packed them with the cold salsa from the processor, cleaned lids and sterilized the lids also, then put lids on finger tight, then put in canner to my balls blue book for salsa, is this good enough to eat....i hope so i made 20 quarts. HELP do not want to make anyone sick

dannylang

When you "cold pack" jars, you cannot use the guide to water bath them that was designed for "hot pack"...   The interior mass of tomatoes will not get up to temperature that "boiling then hot packing" will raise the temperature...

I would not serve that salsa to my family.....

Dump the salsa into a big pot and: replace the quarts with pint jars....
  1. Combine prepared ingredients in a large pot; add lemon juice and salt. Bring to a boil over medium heat while stirring. Reduce heat and simmer salsa for an additional 3 minutes, stirring as needed to prevent scorching.