Pressure Canning Broth Question

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

Culinary Otter

Smoking Fanatic
Original poster
SMF Premier Member
Jan 1, 2024
Alberta, Canada
I picked up a pressure canner and am completely new to it (barely even do water bath canning. I'm looking to keep things food safe and USDA approved (or close).

I see the large caveat in pressure canning is don't alter the USDA approved recipes.

Would this still apply to a stock/broth?
I have a ton of homemade stock in the freezer and would like to thaw it and pressure can it to save some space. I don't possibly see an issue since it's just liquid, but I am a complete novice in this field.

TIA.

I'm an avid home canner, but no food safety expert. Take it for what is worth.
We can 5-10 gallons of bone stock every year. Broth/stock is all the same. I can't think of what you could do that would change the safety of it. Can it up!
I will say though, canned broth is slightly degraded. It will be a little bit thinner in body after canning. I think canning degrades the gelatin. Flavor is unaffected, just make sure there isn't much fat. The fat can get bitter for some reason.

With respect to altering recipes:
If pressure canning, the important thing is texture and thickness, so if you make your sauce 3 times thicker than the recipe, it may not heat as evenly and the pressure time may be inadequate. Or similarly if recipe says cut meat into 1/2" cubes and you cut 2" cubes, that may not be safe.