Why so sweet?

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

Nathanman

Original poster
Jun 27, 2018
Surrey Hills
hi guys,

I’m brand new to smoking (so much so that my smoker came today and it’s not built yet) and wanted to ask about the use of sugar in rubs. I’m a chef by trade and having checked out some rub recipes noticed they all have large amounts of sugar. I would never normally use this much sugar when cooking meats so wanted to ask if there is a reason it’s used in these quantities(tenderness etc) or if it’s just the flavour it imparts? Don’t get me wrong, I’m going to try these rubs but wanted to ask if anyone uses less sweet rubs?

Some folks use a lot of sugar, some use a little, some use none. Even a rub that has a lot of sugar does not make the meat taste sweet at all when you are talking about large cuts. For brisket I don't use any sugar. For pork it's usually a rub that has up to 30% sugar.

Reactions: Nathanman
Think of it as a slow glazing of the meat.The end result is an incredibly crispy bark in many cases.Much depends on type of smoker and time/temp the meat is being cooked.That and type of meat.

I personally do not use sugar based rubs in most smokes.For me the end result is taste and I still get an excellent bark if this is what I want for a particular meat,time and temp are the biggest factors to consider.

hi guys,