Which materials to make offset smoker

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

13Cookie13

Original poster
Feb 16, 2022
After watching lots of TV showing BBQ meat on smokers, I want to start making my own. I plan to build and offset smoker but I'm coming up with few obstacles.
I was originally looking for 20" pipe I could use....... Too dear
Maybe buy a sheet and roll it ....... Don't have a metal roller large enough
I know I can get metal drums ( oil ) but is the wall thickness enough? And can I be sure I'll get the oil burnt off so it won't be poisoning people and/or tasting the meat !
I'm a metal fabricator by trade so the build won't be an issue, what is an issue is that I'm not informed on BBQ so I'd appreciate any advice or tips.
I want to experiment with different designs be it having the barrell horizontal at first and then taking it from there.
The biggest question at this stage would be is an oil drum worthwhile or should I keep looking for some pipe ?
Thanks in advance 😬

Reactions: JLeonard
Welcome.
rEVgkHr.jpg
No disrespect intended, but SmokinEdge SmokinEdge is on the right track. You can't cover all the bases on a bunch of cookers, and decide to buy one in the next month or three. Maybe a year??

Why not build or buy an upright drum and play around with it for a year? Around $300 to build your own, or $1500 range, if you buy a high end one. They are so automatic, you could focus on barbecue meats and all the flavors that go with it without getting interrupted with learning a new cooker.

If you are building an offset but can't roll your own steel I'd look into a propane tank close to 500gal

Here's an option

Boykjo

Search for UDS (ugly drum smoker) you will find your way.