Venison trail bologna

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

stone5674

Original poster
Apr 6, 2016
I am just beginning to make my own trail bologna and snack sticks from my venison and I have questions I hope can be answered here.

I have made breakfast sausage for years but would like to avoid paying the price for the "fun" stuff every year. So far, I have made about 15 one pound chubs using Backwoods Trail Bologna and Backwoods Garlic Chili seasonings. They have all come out good but I'd like some guidance from the experts.
  1. What have you found to be the right combination? Venison and pork fat, venison and beef fat, venison and ground pork, etc.?
  2. Do fibrous casings allow smoke to enter the meat well enough or should I use collagen?
  3. #1 curing salt or #2?
  4. I have been dehydrating cheese because I struggle to get hi-temp cheese when I need it. I've had no issue with this.
  5. I have cooked TB to 155 and then an ice water bath followed by a couple hours at room temp, then overnight in the fridge, vacuum seal and freeze. Is this okay?
Thanks!

Most important thing first... you want to use cure # 1.
Combination of meat to fats is kind of a preference and what you are making. Somewhere between 80 / 20 to 75/25. If you are grinding your own pork butts they are about 80/20 meat to fat ratio.
I haven't used fibrous casing so can't answer that.

Ryan

1. What have you found to be the right combination? Venison and pork fat, venison and beef fat, venison and ground pork, etc.?