Thermometer Issues`

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

Colt66

Original poster
Jun 11, 2018
Wapwallopen, PA
Hello everyone,
I'm new to smoking and have a newbie question for you guys and gals. I have an Oklahoma Joes offset smoker and I just bought a dual probe thermometer (brand is ThermoPro) so I could get a little more accurate. However, the analog thermometer that came with the smoker and the one i just bought are off by A LOT like at least 60 degrees. I have done ribs twice and a brisket and everything came out so-so as I would consider it but now I'm paranoid wondering which (if either) thermometer is correct/accurate. Did i buy junk? Is it worth just spending the money for a good one? I appreciate any feed back.

Colt66
Would suggest doing a ice water/boiling water calbriation on all temperature probes for a baseline. Then adjust probes if possible. The analog probe might be your bad actor. Not a ThermoPro user, which model is it? Hopefully a SMF user will comment on the model.

rjob, it's a TP17. It was only like $25 from amazon. When I get home later i will calibrate it and see where that puts me. Should there be a major difference in temperature from the rack the meat sits on to where the analog thermometer is on the lid?

I agree with rjob in running the ice water/boiling water calibration. Who knows, your internal in the smoker could be off. I have been using my thermopro dual probe for 5 years and have never had an issue.

Analog thermos are notoriously inaccurate and need to be calibrated frequently. The thermos attached to most smokers and grills are frequently, if not usually, off by quite a bit. Like others have mentioned, I would do at least the boil water test.