spanish chorizos

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

thornwill

Original poster
Aug 30, 2018
Hi, this is my first time on the forum and I'm looking for some advice when it comes time to incubate the chorizos for 48 hours at 77 deg.F. I'm having a hard time trusting the quality of the meat after it has been left at room temp. for 2 days. My recipe calls for salt, dextrose and cure #2 and I read a lot of articles that deal with RH, PH and good bacteria, but I'm still having trouble pulling the trigger.

Is there anyone out there that could help put my mind at ease? And in laymen terms!

Lets take a look at what recipe you are planning to use... Just at first glance, Cure #2 is typically used for long-term dry curing for extended curing use of nitrite/nitrate. I would expect cure #1 would typically be used which is a shorter-term cure for Chorizo. In any case, the cure is what you must use appropriately for preventing Botulism. Does your recipe also call for a "good" bacteria starter culture as well? Can you please reference your recipe?

Lets take a look at what recipe you are planning to use... Just at first glance, Cure #2 is typically used for long-term dry curing for extended curing use of nitrite/nitrate. I would expect cure #1 would typically be used which is a shorter-term cure for Chorizo. In any case, the cure is what you must use appropriately for preventing Botulism. Does your recipe also call for a "good" bacteria starter culture as well? Can you please reference your recipe?

Thanks for the quick reply. This is what I'm working with:

http://lpoli.50webs.com/Sausage recipes.htm#CHORIZO-FRESH