Smoke ring

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

jokensmoken

Master of the Pit
Original poster
Dec 7, 2016
Whitmore Lake Michigan
Hey guys,
Ive been smoking for about a decade now and consider myself a fair cook. I'm an eagle scout so have good outdoor cooking skills, been to culinary school and currently own several smokers and grills (I'm not bragging just want to express I'm not really a newbie).
I consider my cooking quite good as my friends and family will attest to. I'm very pleased with everything I do...The flavors are all good, texture is where I want, I get good "bark" when appropriate, but one thing eludes me...A good looking smoke ring...I've been to many competitions to observe and taste and feel I'm at least average, maybe better...But I never seem to get that nice pronounced smoke ring I see at the competitions...That's probably the very reason I've don't compete. My food tastes great, I just don't get that nice pink ring...Any ideas as to what I'm doing wrong? As a culinary grad I understand that appearances are nearly as important as taste...Any advice would be appreciated.

I agree with Ray, we need more info.

But I might add, if your using an electric smoker, you won't get a smoke ring.

Al

Thanks guys,
While I've got several smokers,(2 brinkmans, a WSM, an older offset and a small electric) for my brisket I usually use my 40 inch propane masterbuilt (I like the rack size and temp control)