Smoke generator and smoking meat

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

kallud

Original poster
Jan 20, 2017
Green Bay, wisconsin
So I'm new to smoking and I'm building a smoker out of an old fridge. I thought about pipping in a smoke generator for the main purpose then I don't have to open the door and loose heat to add more wood chips. Obviously when smoking I would be cooking at higher temps I don't know if this is something other people use or is it not a big deal?

I moved this to the fridge build section.

Hopefully you'll get the answer your looking for here.

Al

Kallud, There are several different stand alone smoke generators that you can buy or build if you chose to go in that direction. Both Bradley and Masterbuilt make electric units but they are not your only choices just "Google" "smoke generators for smokers" The advantage to going with a stand alone smoke generator is they produce smoke with very little heat so you can use your box for "cold smoking" items like cheese, fish, jerky ect.and there is no need to open door to add wood. Keep in mind these are different than an external firebox that does produce heat and smoke, but based on your question it sounds like you already have a heat source inside the box, if not you will need one, again you have several options When smoking whether it be traditional "low and slow" or cold smoking make sure you have good air flow thru the box which may require dampers on the bottom as well as the top due to the air tightness of most refrigerators/freezers. Good luck!! Keep us updated as to your progress 

Hi there and welcome!