Question about Oak

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

ltsmoker

Original poster
Aug 15, 2008
Louisiana
I live in South Louisiana and have Oak Trees around my house. I don't want to sound to dumb but I am new to smoking. I read a lot of the post and see that some people use Oak for Smoking. Can you use a fresh cut branch for smoking or do you have to let it cure for a while? It appears Hurricane Gustov is coming our way and will knock a lot of branches and possibly trees down and I will store some of these. Hopefully Gustov won't blow us away. I am a Police Officer here and have to work, Wish me luck.

Lt.Smoker

You want a somewhat seasoned piece of oak. I woud not use a green one. Since I am surrounded by Oaks and Pines, I have been using my Oak more also. I would remove the bark as much as you can.

I use oak in nearly all of my smokes.....mostly because I have plenty of seasoned oak to use. For me it is used partly as the heat source, and also to bump up the flavor of my lighter woods....cherry and apple.

As Flash said, season it and remove the bark and you should be good to go.....
wink.gif

L8r,
Eric

I mainly use oak and have never had a complaint about it. You should definitely let it season for at least 6 months but I usually let mine go for at least a year to get the best results. Hope you guys get through the storm okay.

Just as a helping hint, when people say season or "cure" like you did, they mean to dry, remove moisture from the wood:-) So, yes Oak is awesome, I wish I had more of it!

Thank you for serving the people and be safe for your family during the hurricane, Thanks again for what you do, we all need you:-)