Newbies 1st attempt at Jalapeño Cheddar Sausage

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

HushyQ

Smoke Blower
Original poster
★ Lifetime Premier ★
Dec 30, 2023
Cleveland, Ohio
Appreciate you all and the info i've gained while lurking around. Jleanard says you all like show and tell so I'll include some pics. Haven't made sausage in a long time as stuff happens, my kitchen aid took a dump and was a pain anyway. This is my first attempt at Jalapeño Cheddar and only my first on a Treager. I couldn't wait a full 24 hours to dry so I started this morning on my Treager w just 2 smoke tubes filled with Post Oak chips. I was hoping to go 2 to 4 hours with just the tubes doing a cold smoke. Anyone have any thoughts on how long is it safe to keep the temp that low when using Cure #1? I saw a Chuds video where he went 24 hours. I am hoping to get the most smoke I can safely.
The recipe is 10 lbs half brisket point and half pork western ribs. 2 packs of Chuds sausage starter, 2 tsp Insta Cure #1, 2/3 cup dehydrated jalapeños(a little light actually), and 1 pound of high temp cheddar. The test patty was so good it turned into burgers for my wife and daughter and they both begged me to keep some fresh. Dried in fridge for about 12 hours. Biggest headache was my inexpensive stuffer moving around a bit and the casings breaking pretty frequently. You can see I have quite a few baby links I'll use to temp check. Had some trouble getting some of the hog casings on the tube even when using spray Pam. I used the largest stuffing tube of the 3 that came with the stuffer. Any advice for this newbie from Cleveland would be appreciated. More pics when finished.

Attachments

• stuffed.jpg
    stuffed.jpg
    148.1 KB · Views: 51