Newbie needs direction

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

Mmmm Meat

Meat Mopper
Original poster
SMF Premier Member
Feb 6, 2021
Hi,
My name is George. I live in SW WA near the Columbia River. I'm a retired Navy Dentist and have two kids and a wonderful wife. I started smoking fish back in '94 when I was stationed in ADAK AK for a year and had nothing to do after work except for fishing. I've had that old Big Chief Smoker (that I bought in Adak) for 26 years now but never really moved on past smoked fish and jerky till recently. Just for grins, I purchased a Camp Chef pellet smoker about six weeks ago and have been watching YouTube vids on all kinds of meat related topics.
I decided to try some home cured bacon, which is where I'm a bit stuck. I'm moving over to the Cold Smoked Bacon section of the forum to ask for help there. Hope to learn a lot here in the near future.

Hi,
My name is George. I live in SW WA near the Columbia River. I'm a retired Navy Dentist and have two kids and a wonderful wife. I started smoking fish back in '94 when I was stationed in ADAK AK for a year and had nothing to do after work except for fishing. I've had that old Big Chief Smoker (that I bought in Adak) for 26 years now but never really moved on past smoked fish and jerky till recently. Just for grins, I purchased a Camp Chef pellet smoker about six weeks ago and have been watching YouTube vids on all kinds of meat related topics.
I decided to try some home cured bacon, which is where I'm a bit stuck. I'm moving over to the Cold Smoked Bacon section of the forum to ask for help there. Hope to learn a lot here in the near future.
Welcome to the forum!