Newbie from Cincinnati... Brinkmann WSM

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

smokeywray

Fire Starter
Original poster
May 9, 2008
Hello all,

I'm Austin from Cincinnati, OH. I'm brand new to smoking so my smoking status is "just learning". I'm a HUGE Bar B Que affectionado, I love it. BarBQ joints are my favorite restaurants. We have several smokehouses here in the 'Nati that are diamonds in the rough and a little off the beaten path. No, not Smokey Bones. You may have heard of one of my favorites; The Montgomery Inn. I use A LOT of Montgomery Inn's BBQ sauce which is store bought.

I've perfected Ribs (baby back, spare, country, ect.), Beer canned Chix, Roasts/Butts all in the oven and I'm also pretty good on the gas grill, but I just feel like I'm missing out on more flavor. So this summer, I've decided that I'm going to learn how to smoke.

I'm on a very tight budget so I bought the Brinkmann Gourmet WSM opposed to the Weber. I plan on making a few modifications before using the Brinkmann (change the thermometer, extend legs, add a coal rack, maybe a vent)... If its something that I like doing and something that I'm good at, I will probably buy the Char-griller (I think that's the name. It's $169 at Home Depot).