New Yorker here-New to the site

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

rob8213

Original poster
Apr 1, 2013
Hey fellow smokers, Im fairly new to the site.  Been reading tips and stuff on here for a while, but needed to post something under the "Brinkman Trailmaster Limited Edition" smoker thread, since I had some issues maintaining temps this weekend.

I am from NY, about 1 hr north of NYC.  Im an Engineer.  I love to cook,  BBQ, ride my VTX 1800, boat and do yard work to take my mind away from my career.   I am 38, married with 1 dog and 5 cats!

I have been cooking for about 20 yrs, but recently got into using smoking woods in my Weber E330 gas grill, and then made a wacky smoker from an old SS gas grill, and then realized I can afford a $300 Brinkman and did so 2 months ago.

I am at my 4th use this past weekend and had a pretty good turnout, but need to figure out how to NOT have to tend the fire and coals ever 30 mins.

Look forward to BSing with all of you on here!  
usa.gif

:welcome1: to SMF!!! We're happy you found us! You've come to the right place, we have over 45,000 members who just love to share their experience and over 900,000 posts describing it!

The search bar at the top can be your best friend when you are trying to find answers to your questions but you can still ask too if you want!

Would you do us a favor and add your location to your profile, it helps others to know where you are when they offer advice, Thanks!

You might want to check out Jeff's Free 5 day E-Course, it will teach you all the basics plus a whole lot more!