Need HELP (lol)

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

3roosters

Original poster
Jul 16, 2017
I am new to cold smoking, and trying my hand with this rig I put together. My question is (and I don't have a picture without the 3' extension) the cheese seams like the smoke is over powering and I was getting moisture in the grill. Now in the pictures you can see the 3' extension in between, I didn't get any moisture in the grill, the heat in the extension only went maybe halfway, warm to the touch. I smoked the cheese for 4 hours (sorry no pic.) Haven't tasted this batch yet. Should I leave the extension on, make it shorter? The temps are at the grate, when started and during. thanks for any thoughts.
20240221_125125.jpg
20240221_125110.jpg
20240221_125135.jpg
20240221_132108.jpg

Reactions: JLeonard
3R, Looks like a lot of smoke. No vents on the Alpine jobbie and some creosote(?) running down the smoke chamber(maybe not). Your temps look good IMHO but the volume of smoke to the small chamber appears to be a lot ?

Reactions: gmc2003 and TNJAKE