Meat prices_Where to buy?

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

smokeywray

Fire Starter
Original poster
May 9, 2008
I'm new to smoking so I'm digging for as much info as possible. What I'd like to know is where most of you purchase your meats (bbacks, spares, butts, chickens, briskets, ect.). Do you purchase the meat in bulk or 1 ea? Are you buying from the local grocery or butchers? Last, What is the going rate for these meats per lbs.?

Thanks,
Austin - Cincinnati.

Well, that really depends on your location. Anyplace like SAMS Club all the way down to the local Mom and Pop Grocery can be the place to buy meat. Prices will vary state to state also. I have gotten butts for as little as .88 cent a lb, ribs for $1.29 a lb and chicken for .29 cents a lb.
You'll just need to shop around and find the good spots.

As flash said ..... it'll vary as to location, time of year etc. Some stores do deals on one cut of meat, other stores another.

The local stores will generally be a better cut but often a little pricier.

I tend to buy my meat from any of three stores in Iowa. One does good sausage and pork butts, the other better deals on beef. All depends on the offers and where i am going at the time.

My advice .... shop around, check the free papers for most recent ads.

As these folks have said.