Hi from West Florida (Wesley Chapel)

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

anothermike

Original poster
Jan 8, 2013
Wesley Chapel, FL
hi - good to be here.

I'm a noob to the smoking world - but I like to eat and play with fire so it really wasn't much of a leap to join them together!!

Brought up in England were there was much of a smoking/bbq culture. Moved to NH in 2000 and quickly got

proficient with a gas grill – to the point were of all my friends and family going back to England and buying one after trying mine out!

Now in Florida and whilst I wanted a smoker for a while I finally moved out of a temporary apartment and into a house that already has an outside bar and grill.  So for xmas the wife got me a smoker! (I did tell her exactly what I wanted).

I’m now the owner of a Brinkman Trailmaster Limited Edition.

After spending a bit of time on here I’ve built it, seasoned it and run a few test cooks. Salmon and veg to start (went fine), a couple of Boston butts, drumsticks and sausages (butts – ok after I pulled them from the smoker and finished them in the oven – temp had dropped overnight and I had visitors arriving, drumsticks ok – sausages magnificent) .

Did a couple of whole chickens last weekend – after finding a spice stand at the local market on Saturday! Nom nom! A the masterpiece – bonless leg of lamb rubbed down with double garlic olive oil, and with sage and onion stuffing in the middle. Added citrus salt to the outside like a rub.

Only downside is that I had to finish the lamb in the oven again as I couldn’t get the temp right.