Hey from south Texas!

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

johnsover

Original poster
Jan 30, 2008
Texas Coast
Hi!
I'm pretty new to world of smoking, and naturally I have many questions, so I have been scouring the internet and I finally came across this site. I am so glad I did! So far I have learned more from here than all the others put together!
Anyway, we currently have a new braunfels charcoal smoker, and I just bought a great outdoors vertical gas smoker a couple of days ago.
We have been grinding our sausage for a couple of years now, but we just got into smoking it ourselves a week or so ago. We have much to learn!
I am doing our first batch of summer sausage now, and of course I have run into a couple of snags...
We stuffed the casings and let it sit in the fridge for 2 days, then fired up the new smoker and smoked it for about 8 hours until the IT reached 155, then did the ice bath til the IT reached 120, then I hung it up and that is where I am. I read somewhere that it needs to bloom, but I don't know how long or exactly what bloom is...
anybody know what this means or how long to do it?
Sorry for the long introduction...typical newbie. lol
Nice to meet everyone!
See ya
-V

Welcome to the site John. I dont make sausage so sorry I can't help with the questions. I am sure someone who know smothing about it will be along shortly. Goodluck.

Welcome to the SMF, John. Don't have the answers you are looking for, but I'm sure someone will be along soon to help you out. Check out the 5 day e-course also. It's full of great information that is really quite helpful.

Yes it does help, thanks.
Looks like I'm ready to try some sausage then...its been hanging since 3:00 a.m.
Thanks so much for your help!
See ya
-V