First smoking attempt ever pork / turkey

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

JerryVO

Original poster
Jan 1, 2019
Hi everyone… this is my first attempt at smoking. I got a Cuisinart vertical propane smoker for Christmas. I ran the included tray all wood chips and chunks and got a good burn down to ash with it. I used a separate water tray on the lowest rack filled with apple juice. I smoked a ~4lb pork butt and a ~3 pound turkey breast. Smoker internal temp was between 225 – 235 the whole time. I seasoned everything the night before and did not do an injection. I put the butt in at 04:00 and as of 17:00 it had not risen above 170. It seemed to stall at 140 for 4-5 hours then again at 160 for a few hours. At 17:00 it was only at 170 and I started to get worried about dryness as I have read everywhere about 2 hours per pound and at ~4 pounds it should have been about 8 hours and I was going on 13. I know 205 is the goal for pulled but I was gun-shy at this point. I had it sliced and it was tender with a decent bark but the fat was not rendered and of course I could not pull it since it did not get hot enough.

I put the turkey breast on at 08:00 and pulled it at 15:00 when it hit 160. It had a great bark but was a little dry. I am thinking I will pull it at 155 next time.

Any advice on what I can do differently next time and any thoughts on what went wrong on the cook time with the pork. Do I just need to be more patient?

P.S. I was using 2 Maverick ET-733 thermometers (one of mine and one borrowed from a neighbor) to monitor both meats and the smoker temp. I also used an instant read meat thermometer every 2 hours starting at the 6 hour mark to verify temps.
View media item 554303View media item 554304