First post and seeking advice

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

vbonanni

Original poster
Jul 7, 2023
Hello all. First post ever on a bbq forum so looking for advice. I have been smoking meats and fish for about ten years now with what my family and friends say are pretty good results (the beginning was tough with a lot of bumps and horrible food). My arsenal currently consists of 2 Weber genesis propane grills, an 18 inch WSM, a 14 inch WSM, and a small Masterbuilt propane smoker which someone gave me because they didn’t like smoking. I also have an Auber temp controller that I use with the WSM’s. Having 5 items takes up too much room and the 18 inch WSM doesn’t have enough space plus its a pain to get to the bottom rack so I’m wanting to upgrade my equipment but not sure which path to follow. I don’t like to mix fish and meat in the same smoker so I’m thinking to keep the 14 WSM which is what I use to only smoke fish. For meat, My thought process is to 1) keep 1 Weber propane grill and buy an insulated vertical cabinet smoker 2) get rid of everything and buy a LSG pellet grill. Your thoughts and comments are appreciated as I have no experience with a pellet grill but have read a lot of good things about the one from LSG.

Welcome to smf , great place here. I will give my opinion on pellet grills/smokers, if you like very light to light smoke flavor they might be for you, but if you like heavier smoke flavor I would give it a second thought. Again that's my opinion I'm sure you'll get more opinions on them, some people love them and some dont.

All I've ever owned are pellet grills.
Currently have an LSG 20x42 on order.
No shortage of space - lower grate 20x42 and upper is 15x42.