Finished product on smoker...What to look for.

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

Oceantoad

Smoke Blower
Original poster
SMF Premier Member
Feb 26, 2022
I joined this group a few years ago. It has been a plethora of information when I started making sausages 2 years ago. I have now taken the plunge and bought an offset smoker. In researching the art of BBQing ribs, (I thought I was starting with something easy), is there a checklist someplace that people use to complete the finished product? I know that everyone develops their own style, but as a newbie, I was wondering if there is a list that I can work from. After watching around 150 videos on just smoking ribs, there is the decision to spritz or not to spritz. If you do, what do you use? Another is to wrap or not to wrap. If so, when do you do it and for how long? Is there a list that shows what a judge is looking for in the final product? Points to hit such as; is the rack flexible? or have some bounce to it while grabbing it with the tongs? Did the meat shrink or pull up the bone? I understand that this knowledge and talent all comes with experience and mistakes will be made. I'm just looking at getting started in the right direction.

Reactions: JLeonard
Ribs...my arch enemy! Superman has kryptonite, I have ribs.
I tried 4 seperate times for perfect ribs. All were somewhat fails. I haven't even looked at a slab in the store in over a year due to my unhappiness of the results. They were edible, just not what I had expected.

I'm pulling up a chair for this one.

Reactions: JLeonard