Another Newbie from Minnesota

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

lph

Original poster
Sep 1, 2009
Minnesota
Hello Everyone,

I've been lurking around this forum for a couple months and really appreciate all the information you share. I am fairly new to this smoking thing and everything I know has come from y'all.

I started with a cheap charcoal smoker but never had good results due to 2 things: The weather in MN and my kids keeping me too busy with all their hockey, baseball, lacrosse, etc. The answer was a new Masterbuilt Electric, I love it. My kids keep reminding me that I have become a bit obsessed, but the wife is starting to get used to my new "smoke" cologne.

Not everything I have done has been perfect, but it's getting better all the time. Last night I used Jeff's Naked Rub and his sauce on some babybacks. Everyone agreed they were the best ribs they had ever eaten. For any other newbies out there, Jeff's recipes are as good as everyone on here says, well worth the price.

Anyway, thank you for all the great advice. I look forward to all your help with my new obsession.

Welcome to SMF, The MES is a great smoker, did you get the 30" or the 40"?

Make sure you build a good windscreen for the MES and most winter problems go away. I had a bit of problem with the controller getting too cold in the wind and acting up a bit. So now in really cold windy weather I simply lay a wash towel on top of my MES controller which keeps it above freezing at all times. Problem solved. Other than that its a great machine.

I wish I got the window one though. Bought mine a year too soon I guess.

30" - didn't know any better. I wish I had the larger window one as well.