40” masterbuilt issue, NEED HELP PLEASE

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

cowboy109

Original poster
Nov 14, 2023
Question to all. I have an older masterbuilt 40” electric smoker. Model 20073012. When I plug the smoker in it trips the breaker. I believe I have a bad circuit board on the smoker. If I unhook the heating element and run power straight to the element with a temp power cord, the heating element gets hot and doesn’t trip the breaker. As soon as I plug the smoker in though it trips the breaker. I also went as far as unplugging the control panel incase for some reason there was a short in the control panel. Still have the same problem. Also if you pull the circuit board out of the bottom of the smoker it does appear to have a slight dark spot on it which is why I’m thinking the board may be bad. It looks like you can buy new circuit boards online built everything I find says it’s not for my model masterbuilt (20073012) I only use this smoker to do deer bologna in but it’s that time of the year. Any help would be greatly appreciated! Thanks

Perfect time to add a PID controller.

Do the simple rewire and add an Auber PID.

This will turn your MES into a smoker so much better than a stock new model!

tallbm tallbm is the guy to converse with.