Sportsman Elite digital controller question

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

DStrick

Original poster
Feb 14, 2024
Afternoon, I have a 40" master-built sportsman elite smoker and the control panel is no longer working. Unfortunately, this smoker is no longer produced and I am curious if anyone has or knows of a replacement panel or board that could be used. Love the smoker and the newer ones just aren't the same as this one. The model number is 20075415 Any help would be greatly appreciated.

This is the absolute perfect time to consider using a PID controller.

tallbm tallbm and JC in GB JC in GB are our resident PID gurus and I'm sure they'll chime in shortly.

And this is the ideal PID controller:

Last edited:
Afternoon, I have a 40" master-built sportsman elite smoker and the control panel is no longer working. Unfortunately, this smoker is no longer produced and I am curious if anyone has or knows of a replacement panel or board that could be used. Love the smoker and the newer ones just aren't the same as this one. The model number is 20075415 Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Hi there and welcome!
Amazon has a few sellers that are doing replacement Masterbuilt smoker controllers but I didn't see one for your model and other parts places seem to be out. I don't trust masterbuilt to actually get it for you either as their customer service is reported to be horrible.

The electronics and wire connectors are the weak point of the masterbuilt electric smokers (MES) and the body is by far the strength, that part is rock solid.

So your options are limited but a very good option is to do the simple rewire (cut ends off 4 wires and wire nut to make 2 whole wires) and slap on a PID controller.