26 hours for smoked pastrami?

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

blairleish

Original poster
Jul 19, 2021
Hello everyone! I'm fairly new to smoking meats. I found a recipe for smoked pastrami that looked interesting. It can be found here:

Smoked Pastrami

I ended up with a 3 pound brisket flat, followed the recipe (quite a long process), and smoked it in my Masterbuilt MB20071117 Digital Electric Smoker at 225 degrees. It took 26 hours to reach an internal temperature of 203 degrees. I had a digital meat thermometer inserted throughout the process. I used the masterbuilt built-in thermostat to monitor temperature and confirmed this with an independent thermometer. The temperature throughout the cook was consistent, averaging 225 degrees.

So, why did it take so long to cook such a small cut of brisket? The recipe indicated a much shorter predicted finish time. I understand the theory behind the "stall". I chose not to do the "texas crutch", but to power through (patiently). I'm just surprised that it took so long to reach the target temperature. Did the brining and liquid soaking processes contribute to the length of time? Any other ideas? I'm eager to learn more.

My bet is your smoker is running much lower than 225 regardless of what the door gauge says. Get you a independent probe that you can place inside smoker to verify your temps.......and we love pastrami pics so post em up!

Edit. I see you used a second probe for chamber temp. Verify that's working correctly by testing in boiling water

No surprise to me, I've done briskets at 225 and they took 24 hours.
That's just too low to cook brisket IMHO.
These days I run them hot and fast (6-8 hours) and have no regrets, just super dark bark.