Burn one wood or different kinds at once?

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

Smoker4x4

Original poster
Dec 12, 2023
I'm new to smoking and was wondering what you all do to get the most flavor out of smoked meat. I know part of it is personal preference but I'd like to read your opinions and get some ideas on what type of woods pair well with which foods.

Is it best to smoke one wood like a oak or add a pecan and apple to it? Is a maple/pecan a good combo for red meat and poultry? Which woods can create a more harsh or bitter taste to the food?

I'm going to be smoking lots of red meat, poultry and pork with occasional fish and cheese.

Best wood and combo for...
Beef and lamb
Chicken
Turkey
Pork
Salmon
Cheese
?

Depends on what I’m cooking on.

WSM Pork - Hickory mostly, small amount of apple occasionally and small amount of pecan always.

WSM beef- hickory and oak

WSM chicken- pecan and apple

Offset- splits only

Beef- Red oak with white or post or only white or post.

Pork- hickory (when Im feeling spendy) and almond or anything else to build my initial coal bed and after I wrap, if I wrap. If Im not wanting to spend a lot, generally white or post. Pecan If I can get it.

Depends on what I’m cooking on.

WSM Pork - Hickory mostly, small amount of apple occasionally and small amount of pecan always.

WSM beef- hickory and oak

WSM chicken- pecan and apple

Offset- splits only

Beef- Red oak with white or post or only white or post.

Pork- hickory (when Im feeling spendy) and almond or anything else to build my initial coal bed and after I wrap, if I wrap. If Im not wanting to spend a lot, generally white or post. Pecan If I can get it.
Thank you.