Smoking boston butt over night

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

scsmoker843

Original poster
Dec 27, 2023
How can I put on a boston butt to cook over night on a masterbuilt electric smoker. I know I'm suppose to add wood chips every 30 min. Can I, and how would it be if it only got chips once until I got up that morning?

Thanks beginner here
1000000619.jpg

Reactions: JLeonard
How can I put on a boston butt to cook over night on a masterbuilt electric smoker. I know I'm suppose to add wood chips every 30 min. Can I, and how would it be if it only got chips once until I got up that morning?

Thanks beginner here View attachment 684445
Well, even without chips, you can make a pretty good butt on an MES.
Realistically, you won’t get much more smoke into the meat after 2-4 hrs, so a good way to do things is:come home from work, rub your butts and turn your smoker up to 255 or so, put the butts in with a first beer can of chips (don’t go nuts because you can blow the door off if you exceed the ability of the smoker to exhaust the flammable gas)
Finish dinner, reload the beer can and go to bed.

The pork will be succulent in the AM.
Pull it with a little finishing sauce and everyone will think you’re A BBQ God.

Reactions: mr mac

Thanks beginner here View attachment 684445
I'd be more worried about over smoking, but google pellet smoking tube.
I use all the time about 1/2 full when doing chicken on a can.

Nope, you put chips in twice, once when you got home and once whe you finished dinner and went to bed.