Smokin In Alaska

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

hobbyzone

Original poster
Jun 25, 2008
Alaska
Hello everyone....
My name is Matt and I am from the Anchorage area of Alaska.
I have a Brinkman eletric smoker and have been using it for about 3 months. I have done spare ribs, BB ribs, chicken, pulled pork, brisquet, fresh Alaskan Salmon, corn, potatoes and almost tried to throw the the wife's Chihuahua in there
biggrin.gif
It has taken MANY differnt times, temps, woods, rubs and brines to get the ribs right where I want them, but im still learning so any insight is always valued.
If anyone has any experience with smoking Salmon please chime in! It is Salmon season here and everyone is throwing them around and I am asked daily to smoke some for somebody but im not sure how to so it resembles the smoked store bought ones. Having to transport it from house to house what is the best way to smoke cure it so it can be "off ice" and still good.
This is new to me so forgive my, what seems like, stupid questions.
Anyway nice to meet you all and this site is the shizz...Thank You!

welcome to the site, although I am no help at salmon someone here should know how to do it.
may all your smokes be good.

Rich

welcome to the SMF. I bet you can get some good info at the seafood/fish forum. If ya can't check back in and I would bet good money that you'll get plenty of answers/help!
wink.gif

Welcome to the board, you are lucky tohave access to the abundant fish and wildlife there. I came back last week from fishing in Sitka AK but I had the most fun at the Red Dog Saloon in Juneau.

Matt welcome to SMF you'll find lots of good info and reipes here. I can't help you with salmon but I'm sure others can. Have fun and happy smoking