Smoked Cheese

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

phil in bc

Original poster
Jan 5, 2013
Kamloops BC Canada
Thought today would be a good day to introduce myself. I'm Phil, i live in Kamloops BC, and I've been stealing ideas and recipies from you guys for many years, thought it was about time i contributed a bit. I read that some of you when smoking cheese only have it on the smoke for a failry short period of time. When i do this, and we smoke a lot of cheese, i generally have it in the smoker for a minimum of 12 hours, and sometimes upwards of 16 hours at roughly 60 degrees F and always with applewood. Here's some pics from the smoke this week, getting ready for the holidays. This cheese is always a hit at christmas, makes great gifts for friends.
In this batch there is two kinds of cheddar, monchego, gouda, mozza, jarlsberg, emmental, and jalapino jack, done on the bradley with home made cold smoke attachment.

Attachments

• IMG_20231210_094346014.jpg
    IMG_20231210_094346014.jpg
    130.7 KB · Views: 100
  • IMG_20231210_081702427_HDR.jpg
    IMG_20231210_081702427_HDR.jpg
    119.9 KB · Views: 88
  • IMG_20231210_101319384.jpg
    IMG_20231210_101319384.jpg
    105.8 KB · Views: 78
  • IMG_20231210_192037218.jpg
    IMG_20231210_192037218.jpg
    131.3 KB · Views: 82
  • IMG_20231210_192356490.jpg
    IMG_20231210_192356490.jpg
    131 KB · Views: 100
Welcome aboard and that's some nice looking cheese. I'm one of those folks that only smokes cheese for a short period of time. My wife and I enjoy lighter more subtle smoke flavor. My kids however like theirs stronger.

Chris

Welcome to the club.