New to smoking meat but not new to eating it!

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

Jason_Mac

Original poster
Dec 29, 2018
Oklahoma, United States
Hello,

Glad to see there is a forum for smoking meat. I am new to this trade but have been eating smoked meat my whole life. I just bought an electric smoker because honestly, I love smoked bbq but hate all the work that goes into it. My true passion is woodturning but I want to eat good smoked bbq without a lot of effort. I am hear to learn.

Reactions: SonnyE
Hi Jason!
Welcome to:
small-logo.png

You are in the right place to learn how to pursue your passion for smoked anything. These guys know their stuff!
As a fellow splinter dabbler, learn what woods will work, and always avoid the bad ones when it comes to using shavings in your smoker.
I had a nice chunk of Oak I finally shaved up in my Jointer into oak shavings for sm00kin.
But anymore, I just take specified Pellets, and dissolve them into dust and dry them for smokin fuel.
And an AMNPS is a really great tool for your smoker. It can burn pellets, and can burn sawdust (made from pellets).
I fell fast in Love with Smoked meat as a child. It's been a passion of mine my whole life.
But not until I stumbled into SMF did I finally find the folks and the ways to perfect my passion.

Reactions: Jason_Mac
Welcome Jason!!
Been working with wood all of my life. Mostly Kitchens & Entertainment cabinets (20 years), and Chainsaw Carving.
Smoking Meat for only 9 years.
The only turning I've done was I used to reverse-turn Christmas Ornaments.

If you want to see what you can do with an Electric Smoker, click on my "Step by Step" (Below).

Bear