New to This- Is This Cooked?

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

hmcghee

Original poster
Mar 13, 2024
Hello all,

I’m new to smoking and just wondering if this looks normal for a smoked drumstick or if this is not cooked. I know that the meat keeps its pink color, just wondering if this is too much. I appreciate your input. Thanks!

Attachments

• 342BD4F2-6E59-4D97-A9C2-F3F7242BC9DD.png
    342BD4F2-6E59-4D97-A9C2-F3F7242BC9DD.png
    713.2 KB · Views: 73
I’m sorry y’all- to be completely honest, I am currently expecting a baby who should be here very soon and I was served this at a smokehouse. I was very nervous for both baby and my health after I took a bite and immediately stopped eating it. I had read on your forum about how smoked meat is often pink and was hoping that was it. I’m a big cook myself and ALWAYS temp check with my thermapen. I think I was just looking for some reassurance that it was indeed cooked despite the look and I thought I would ask some experts. I shouldn’t have been dishonest. I’m sorry that I used this forum for something it wasn’t for. I will leave now but in the future, if I take up smoking, I’ll use it for the right reasons. Thank you!

When expecting and in doubt drop it. You did the right thing. Maybe it was that well smoked (but I doubt it). Follow your gut instinct, it won't let you or the soon to be little one down.

Edit: welcome and the vast majority of people on here will give you great advice if you just ask. It's a really great group of people.

Reactions: JLinza