New Guy from Eastern WA

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

drysideshooter

Original poster
Nov 5, 2023
Hello all. I've been lurking a while and decided I should join.

I live in eastern Washington. I've been smoking and bbq'ing for quite a few decades. I'm a big Weber fan and have a 22" Performer kettle and a 18.5" WSM. My wife has a Weber gas grill we use for quicker cooks.

I've used the heck out of my WSM. We recently really upped our sausage making volume. I've used the WSM for a lot of smoked sausages and smoking our own cured pork bellies. We recently acquired a Meat Your Maker 1hp grinder and one of their 15lb sausage stuffers. We have been doing enough that the KitchenAid just wasn't cutting it any more. As much as I like the WSM, it's just not ideal for lower temps, like 140 for snack sticks and some sausages. I have an Amazn pellet tube, and tried that and various snake methods, but struggled getting consistent lower temps and being able to ramp up reliably as needed for some snack sticks and sausages. I just ordered a Masterbuilt 40" digital, the one without the window. I also ordered one of their cold smoker attachments. I'm going to fabricate a rack for hanging sausage in it, with ideas garnered from these forums. I thought about moddinng ann extra door for the WSM and adding an electric element, but decided a different unit made sense for us. I'll still use the heck out of the WSM. For typical smoking temps I find it so amazingly easy to hit and maintain temperature.