just picked my first offset

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

enragged

Original poster
May 9, 2017
So I found (what I hope) was a pretty good deal on a smoker on market place and picked it up. It needs a little tlc but seems to be pretty decent. I am new to the offset game and looking for any pointers with this thing. I plan on using oak as it is easily obtained but if I go a little south can probably easily get pecan or mesquite as well. This is what I got, fire box has some rust but in my area it rarely goes past surface rust. I do plan on cleaning it up and either seasoning or painting. The person I got it from even threw in a can of rustoleum high temp grill paint. I am sure there are improvements that could be made, the vent on the firebox seems a bit small to me, and the person I got it from said he would run it with the door a little open. He did use it to compete with and (at least according to him and his wife) did very well. Anyway hope this is a good pit.

Attachments

• 20210828_122941_remastered.jpg
    20210828_122941_remastered.jpg
    244.4 KB · Views: 102
  • 20210828_123124_remastered.jpg
    20210828_123124_remastered.jpg
    234.1 KB · Views: 104
  • 20210828_122918_remastered.jpg
    20210828_122918_remastered.jpg
    165.4 KB · Views: 105
  • 20210828_123008.jpg
    20210828_123008.jpg
    154.5 KB · Views: 105
  • 20210828_123027_remastered.jpg
    20210828_123027_remastered.jpg
    154 KB · Views: 102
Looks to me like a fine smoker! A little rust never hurt a firebox (you should see mine LOL!)
I like the way the firebox is so much lower than the chamber. Dual exhausts no less.
Two cooking grates and a big outside "table".
Leaving the door a little open is more common than you think.