Is freshly processed pork tough?

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

DailyLunatic

Fire Starter
Original poster
Jan 11, 2023
Ban Ko Kaeo, Thailand
I told the wife that I wanted to go into Samrong Thap village to pick up a few kg of pork butt. I'm still new to smoking and wanted to do a pulled pork for my second attempt. She asked, why? Just call <unintelligible name> and he will bring to us here. I did not know that.

I had just learned from her that I can pick up the horn and order whatever I need, pork wise. Apparently, <unintelligible name> is a farmer/rancher local to our village and slaughters a pig every day to bring to market. With 24 hours notice, he will reserve whatever cuts you want, and deliver to residents of the village at no additional charge. (perk of living in the same village, I guess. Or maybe he gets to cut out the middleman. Dunno.)

So, next morning at 8:00 am sharp, a motorcycle with sidecart/cooler pulls into the drive. 3 kg butt (piece of loin still attached to get the weight up I suppose) , 1kg loin, and 1 kg fat (fat was mostly jelly. As I understand, not really good for sausage. Oh well, me happy anyway.) I am assured that it was alive the prior evening. He takes pride in that fact, and works though the night to get the freshest to market as possible. To the touch the butt was well chilled, but I only know how it was received, not how quickly it was cooled. Also, the butt came boneless. They process using knife/cleaver, 100%. No saw work at all. So, no bone-in hams in my future.