Hi from a neighbour to the North

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

Malcolm B

Original poster
Jun 27, 2019
Ontario, Canada
My name is Malcolm,

I'm coming to you all from Ontario, Canada. I'm 33 years old and I'm a first generation truck mechanic by trade. I discovered my passion for cooking about 7 years ago when I bought a charcoal barbecue. Since then I have naturally gravitated towards smoking and wood-fired cooking.

I've been smoking contently for the past four years on my two webers. I have utilized the smokenator on the master touch grill, which was a game-changing maneuver as it was, but I feel like I am ready to take the plunge into wood-fired cooking and smoking. In the past few years I have become well acquainted with local butchers and produce. My experience thus far has taught me the importance of quality produce and meat.

I have shopped around for smokers here in Canada, and there is one company I know of in Manitoba (Bulldog BBQs), but with the shipping cost, would put the smoker to about $2,500 or more. I figure even if I bought a Lang, it would be around the same price. The price isn't what scares me though, it's that I would rather be experienced in the care of a steel smoker before spending that kind of money. (Cleaning it, maintaining it, etc). The weber barbecues cost me $200 each, so I would rather transition to a more expensive smoker than go at it "full throttle".