Hey all, I am new here.. Temp question.. apologies in advance if its in the wrong place!

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

Gambit724

Original poster
Dec 9, 2020
Hey everybody!

First of all this seems like such a supportive wonderful place for smokers.. i am so glad to be here!

I have been smoking for about 2-3 years on my charbroil offset smoker.

The biggest problem i have had with it is maintaining temperature;

My favorite thing to smoke is brisket and pork ribs. My last brisket turned out pretty great but the temp swings are all over the place on this thing.

I know Charbroil is not top of the line but regardless, i am trying to learn on it.

So here are my questions for those generous enough to answer:

1.) How much charcoal do you recommend starting the smoke with. I generally smoke at 225 for ribs and 250-275 for brisket as i've found a little hotter helps get through the stall better (in my very limited experience.) Should I be filling the firebox up and then pouring a full chimney starter on top of that? I've always wondered how much charcoal is the right amount to start with. I use lump charcoal, whatever i can get my hands on at ace hardware, home depot or lowes.

2.) Are there some good links to hacks for the Charbroil; I've read about chimney pipe and baffles (i think).. is there a good source for these hacks that might help hold temp? I am game to do whatever i need.

3.) Has anyone tried a temp blower in an offset grill for a overnight brisket smoke? I am thinking if i go low and slow at 225 it might take 12-15 hours.. anyone ever try a temp controller on an offset like a charbroil?