Hello from Snoqualmie, WA - new guy already with questions!

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

weevil

Original poster
Jan 23, 2013
Snoqualmie, WA
Hello all - I am still a newbie and have owned my Master Forge gas smoker (from Lowes) for about a year.  I have had some success so far with smoking pork shoulders 4 times (as well as a whole chicken once) but am still new.  I have already enrolled in Jeff's 5 day ecourse and got my first chapter today.

I got into smoking meats from a colleague who brought in his pork and brisket a few times.  Well that and a local vendor that I've dumped a lot of money on. :)  I am willing to smoke about any meat; however, I want to minimize failure so as to not waste good meat.  My ultimate goal is to smoke pork ribs that are as good as the local vendor that I continue to visit!

In my limited experience, I have come across a few questions that I've love any input on.  However, I'm sure some of them will be covered in the ecourse.

1) Can I use wood smoking pellets (Traeger) in my Master Forge grill?  If so, how much should I put in my burn pan and how often?  Lastly, do pellets need to be soaked in water beforehand just as I do with my wood chips?

2) I've heard that a majority of smoke penetration occurs within the first couple hours of smoking.  Is this true and if so, can the rest of the cooking occur in the oven?  My coworker swears by smoking his pork/brisket for 4-6 hours and then covering it in a pan with some fluid (he typically uses light beer) at 400 degrees for a couple hours to ensure it is cooked and he says it helps with breakdown for pulling it.