Hello from Houston!

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

ivysmom

Original poster
Sep 19, 2012
Houston, TX
Howdy folks! My name is Holly, and I'm in Houston, Texas. I'm a married 40-something with a kid in Pre-K, and a house with a back yard near downtown. I work in the O&G industry as a finance analyst (lots of time in front of spreadsheets, and talking with engineers about their costs) at a ginormous multi-national company.

I grew up in this city, and have very fond memories of my Dad's home-built brick smoker. The thing was HUGE -- probably 6’ tall and a good 3' deep. He was a big fan of smoking, and by default, so was I. Nothing but charcoal and small logs of mesquite. I remember first seeing those chunks of twisted prickly scrub brush tree cut into 18" chunks in storage of the side of the smoker, and I knew that meant a brisket (or whole Thanksgiving turkey) was on the way soon. *DROOL*