General question about brisket and internal temperature

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

PongGod

Original poster
Nov 10, 2023
I have about 10 years of experience as a Pit Barrel Cooker (PBC) owner, but my results smoking briskets has always been very hit or miss. The guidance I've had suggests that once it reaches somewhere in the 200-205F range internal, then it's time to pull it and let it rest (wrapped, of course). Whether it was wrapped at some point prior to reaching that temperature shouldn't make a difference. And just to be clear, I tend to work with smaller briskets, 6-10 pounds, because I've had better luck with those. Personally, I prefer just cooking the point.

My question is... how long to let it rest? The reason I ask is that given the PBC runs relatively hot (at least for the first several hours), the time it takes to reach that target temperature is likely to be much less than with a more traditional smoker holding at lower temperatures. So, for example, if my brisket reaches the target temperature in 5 hours versus 10 hours with some other smoker, would each require the same resting time? I would think not, but I'm having a hard time zeroing in on a reliable strategy for this.

Or perhaps I'm looking at this the wrong way. Maybe it's a given that you can't formulate a reliable, set-it-and-forget-it type of strategy for something as finnicky as a brisket. Maybe the resting time should be determined solely by the feel of how easy it is to slide the temperature probe in and out to know when it's truly ready. This is something I've read in other comments.